What is the Hajj?

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. About Islam
  4. What is the Hajj?

The Hajj is the fifth pillar of Islam. The Hajj is the pilgrimage to Mecca, Saudi Arabia, the birthplace of the prophet Mohammed. Every Muslim is supposed to make the pilgrimage if he or she is able to. The Hajj lasts for five to six days and occurs during the 12th month of the Muslim calendar. During the Hajj, Muslims perform special rituals.

The Hajj is a defining moment in a Muslim’s life, as it unites all Muslims together and is the completion of the fifth pillar of Islam.

During the Hajj, people wear simple white clothing to remove any indication of social status or wealth. This creates an environment of equality.


Gulevich, Tanya. Understanding Islam and Muslim Traditions: An Introduction to the Religious Practices, Celebrations, Festivals, Observances, Beliefs, Folklore, Customs, and Calendar System of the World’s Muslim Communities, including an Overview of Islamic History and Geography. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 2004. Print.


To read Understanding Islam and Muslim Traditions, please see the attached document.


Article Attachments

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This