What is Sharia law?

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. About Islam
  4. What is Sharia law?

Sharia law is a form of Islamic law. It is based off of the Quran, Hadith, and actions of MuhammadSharia law helps to guide Muslims in their daily life. Sharia is an Arabic word that can be translated to “path of spring”.

Sharia law divides human actions into five categories: obligatory, recommended, permitted, disliked, and forbidden.There are four sections of Sharia law texts: laws concerning worship, laws concerning marriage and divorce, laws concerning penal laws, and laws concerning trade.


Gulevich, Tanya. Understanding Islam and Muslim Traditions: An Introduction to the Religious Practices, Celebrations, Festivals, Observances, Beliefs, Folklore, Customs, and Calendar System of the World’s Muslim Communities, including an Overview of Islamic History and Geography. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 2004. Print

“Sharia.” BBC News. 09 Mar. 2009. 


To read Understanding Islam and Muslim Traditions, please see attached document.

Article Attachments

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This