What are the practices and rituals of Islamic worship?

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. About Islam
  4. What are the practices and rituals of Islamic worship?

All Muslims follow the Five Pillars of Islam, namely Shahaadah, Prayer, Fasting, Charity and Pilgimage. Muslims also celebrate Ramadan and make the pilgrimage to Mecca. Muslims pray 5 times a day: before sunrise, midday, afternoon, after sunset, night.

The notion of intention is an integral part of Islam. Muslims should be thinking about Allah when praying. On the Day of Judgement, Allah will take into account the intention of people’s actions. Before Muslims pray, they perform a ritual cleaning of themselves. They clean themselves in a ritual cleaning called wudu. 

The Fifth Pillar of Islam is the Hajj, the pilgrimage to Mecca. Every Muslim is to make the pilgrimage to Mecca if he or she is able to. Muslims fast during the month of Ramadan. This month celebrates the time when the Quran became known to humanity. Another Muslim tradition is zakat. Every year, Muslims donate 2.5% of their wealth to charity.


Saleh. BBC. 

Gulevich, Tanya. Understanding Islam and Muslim Traditions: An Introduction to the Religious Practices, Celebrations, Festivals, Observances, Beliefs, Folklore, Customs, and Calendar System of the World’s Muslim Communities, including an Overview of Islamic History and Geography. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 2004.

To read Understanding Islam and Muslim Traditions, please see attached document.


Article Attachments

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This